St. Kitts’ Ministry of Tourism and International Transport recently won the Destination Stewardship Award at a ceremony during the Caribbean Tourism Organisation’s State of the Industry Conference in St. Thomas.

The St. Kitts Tourism Authority said Wednesday that Mrs. Patricia Martin, Permanent Secretary and Mrs. Diannille Taylor-Williams, Assistant Secretary, accepted the award on behalf of the Ministry.

It said the Destination Stewardship Award goes to a destination which successfully demonstrates a programme of sustainable tourism, while incorporating social, cultural, environmental and economic benefits.

“It is a great honor to accept such a prestigious award,” Mrs Martin said. “Indeed we are working very hard to achieve sustained growth in visitor arrivals to obtain optimal long-term benefits for the population, without adversely affecting the country’s cultural heritage and natural resources.”

Caribbean Tourism Organization’ top sustainable tourism award, the Caribbean Excellence in Sustainable Tourism (CEST) Award, was presented to The Puerto Rico Tourism Company.The awards were presented in collaboration with the online community for the travel and tourism industry, TravelMole.

They comprised six categories covering all aspects of sustainability, from overall excellence, to accommodation, community, heritage and biodiversity.

They were judged by a panel of three tourism and environmental specialists: Lloyd Gardener, the president of the Foundation for Development Planning Inc. in the USVI; Jake Kheel, the environmental director at Punta Cana Resort & Club in the Dominican Republic and Gail Henry, CTO’s sustainable tourism product specialist.


Written by SCASPA Admin